Photo Study 3: Patterns & Textures

Low value texture, two various kinds of trees, shattered concrete, and a close up of grass and a distant view of grass (which I took because I thought the linear pattern from the mower gave it a nice subtle look).
Low value texture; two various kinds of trees, shattered concrete, and a close up of grass and a distant view of grass (which I took because I thought the linear pattern from the mower gave it a nice subtle look).

In this assignment I was to “Photograph 10 examples of visual pattern and 10 actual textures, 5 with high value contrast and 5 with low value contrast in each group.” So I went on a walk. Where I felt able to capture a few organic shots of patterns and textures. And so I threw in a few non-organic (man-made) values and textures as well for some variety.

Low value patterns, 4 fabric pieces, and a metal seating of a porch chair.
Low value patterns, 4 fabric pieces, and a metal seating of a porch chair.
High value textures; 2 different types of concrete, gravel, bark, and fabric.
High value textures; 2 different types of concrete, gravel, bark, and fabric.
High value patterns, a shower head, brick, fabric, and two organic visuals - plants.
High value patterns, a shower head, brick, fabric, and two organic visuals – plants.

One thought on “Photo Study 3: Patterns & Textures

  1. Can I simply say what a relief to discover somebody who really understands
    what they are discussing online. You definitely realize how to bring an issue to light and make it important.
    More and more people should read this and understand this side of the story.
    I can’t believe you aren’t more popular since you most certainly have the gift.

    Like

Leave a comment